About the two of us

I used to be (and still kind of am) self conscious about my age when it came to online things, thinking that if people knew how young I was, they would not take me seriously. So I would avoid mentioning it, and kind of try to make myself appear older. Silly, I know. But here, I am going to be honest. (And that is my promise to y’all; this blog is nothing if not honest, for better or worse.) I am 18 years old, living with my parents and attending my first year of community college. I was previously homeschooled, and I will forever be grateful to my mother for quitting her job as a PA to give me the education she thought I deserved. I am very lucky to have two parents who have raised me with the utmost kindness and supported me in all my endeavors. As you will read further on, we have had our differences, but I love them to death and wouldn’t trade them for anything in the world.  I live in Southwest VA. I don’t actually say “y’all,” nor do I have the southern accent even though I was born here; I have the same accent that my parents have, (them being from Alexandria VA, up near Washington DC.) But I like to write “y’all” so you will probably see it in my posts a lot. I have been playing the piano since I was 6 years old, and am a lover of classical music, especially Baroque. I also love classic literature. I am a Holmesian, a Lostaway, and an X Phile. The Myers Briggs test calls me an “ISFJ-T,” claiming that I am 97% introverted and 3% extroverted. This is a fairly accurate depiction of me I think. If you were to meet me, you would at first see a polite but shy, serious person, reluctant to do anything that would draw attention to myself. but my family and close friends know that I am a joker, sometimes to the point of being irreverent, as well as passionate about dogs and music. I am a sarcastic snark, you have been warned. Fortunately for y’all, I do not feel the same restraint talking to people online as I do in real life, so I will have no problem yakking your ears off.

In June of 2017, I met Brèagha, an 8 week old Border Collie, for the first time. The second I laid eyes on her I fell head over heels in love. Raising the little fluff was a test of patience. Done properly, raising a puppy is a time consuming process, and my family were not happy about the amount of time I spent with her, telling me I that I was becoming “obsessed” with her and should be spending more time doing “normal” things, as well as not being very tolerant of her puppy behaviors, and rebuking me for not punishing her when she did all of the annoying things that puppies do. They did not (and do not) understand dogs and their behavior, nor did I expect them to, and I realize that puppies can be infuriating, but I was not anticipating the resistance, and it made me feel quite alone in the process of raising my dog. I am prone to self doubt, so I feared that I was doing things all wrong. Nevertheless, I was determined to raise her properly, with kindness, and my Bree grew into a fine young dog. We got through that stressful time, and I have no regrets. She is my heart. There is nothing I would not do for her, and not a day goes by that I do not tell her how much I love her. Whatever the future holds, knowing I will have her by my side through the coming years adds a glint of confidence to this uncertain time of my life. She is the sweetest derp you will ever see, instantly loving everyone she meets. She is a cuddler and a talker. But she is also quite intense and energetic. She loves to exercise her mind and body learning tricks and chasing discs.

So, together we are stumbling through life, as people do, and if you are a sorry enough soul to stick around and read my ramblings, you are most welcome.

003

002.JPG

Advertisements